reloplive.blogg.se

Change profile name microsoft account
Change profile name microsoft account









change profile name microsoft account

Now shut down and restart using the original account with the updated name.Įverything works exactly as before, although I have no idea what effect this has on OneDrive or a Microsoft account - I disabled OneDrive previously and I don't have a Microsoft account.ĮDIT: So since I changed the name I have discovered some inherent problems with changing the name and this is consistent with LPChip's answer below. Find the original account and edit the name to your preferred name. Open Registry Editor and navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\ProfileList. Navigate to C:\Users and rename the original account to your preferred name. Shutting down rather than just switching users is needed for the next step. Shut down and log back in using the new account. Navigate to Settings/Accounts/Family & other users/Add someone else to this PC/ and create a second local administrator account. Rename the account in Control Panel/User Accounts - this I had previously done and probably has no bearing on the result. I also did this with the internet disconnected. These are the steps I took although I'm not sure all are necessary.

change profile name microsoft account

How to rename the User folder in Windows 10?ĮDIT: So I have successfully changed the username without breaking anything and maintaining the same user profile settings as before. Now the task is working out the cleanest method. What about creating another administrator account and deleting the initial one altogether? I could do this with little inconvenience as I have not loaded any software or files of note.Īny solutions which are guaranteed to work (if performed correctly) are appreciated.ĮDIT: I just found this previous question which seems to have many valid answers. Is there a specific system/registry location where this username change can be made? I believe there has to be as upon creation the initial username propagates to hundreds of registry keys within seconds of creating it.

change profile name microsoft account

I have since changed this account to my name in user accounts but it remains "Just me" in windows explorer etc. Unfortunately when asked who was going to use this computer I typed "Just me". At startup of my new Windows 10 PC I created a local administrator account (not a Microsoft account as I wasn't connected to the internet).











Change profile name microsoft account